Uncategorized

The Beginning.

So this is me.

The blonde on the left.

I recently attended a soiree thrown by one of my gorgeous older sisters, (the dark hair on the middle right) to celebrate the fabulous beginning and further success of her business, Magpie Creative. (https://www.facebook.com/magpiecreativescotland/.)

It was an intimate affair with copious amounts of Prosecco and an abundance of delicious canapés provided by the wonderful people at Good Highland Food. Anyone who knows me is aware that I have a particular weakness for tiny food on sticks and a cheeky glass of bubbly. Well I have a weakness for almost all foods, tiny and on sticks or not. And as I said, this will be a space for the enjoyment of food; cooking it, eating it, growing it. The good and the bad, but hopefully more of the good. I mention this party pretty much solely for the purpose of introducing myself to you with this fabulous picture of me and my gorgeous family, sorry not sorry.😙

Apart from parties with my stunning sisters and marvellous mother and father, I have spent most of this week outdoors. It has been one of those rare weeks in Scotland where the sun has been well and truly out. Well, it was warm anyway.  I, being fair of skin and hair, am burnt. Almost crispy. I cannot chastise myself too much though as the outdoor air has been a dream and I used the sun wisely. During the rare clear days I attempted to construct my new polytunnel. It is 15ft by 10ft. I am immensely proud of it, and it’s a bit of a beast. Thus my gardening journey must continue, and as Julie Child (a hero of mine) has said. ‘You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.’ The polytunnel is where I hope to grow my own fresh ingredients. Having worked on a fruit and veg farm and dabbled in the art of the kitchen garden for a few years now I can safely say I have no idea what I am doing. Like in cooking I have a bit of a ‘what the hell’ attitude. Thus far this has worked for me, but my luck surely has to run out soon right? Optimistically this blog will capture the success and enjoyment from having my own polytunnel and the produce I may eventually gain from it. One can dream right?!

So as well as being blonde, sunburnt and into food and gardening. I’m 22, and I’ve been in Edinburgh for the last four years at University. I have now returned to the highlands to pursue my passion in the garden. The quiet here is unreal and I doubt I’ll ever be used to it again, I genuinely never thought that I would miss the sound of the trams but low and behold I long for that incessant DING.

Anyway, a little bit about food, a little bit about the garden and a little bit about me.  Thus concludes ‘The Beginning.’ A look into what hopefully is to come: just a country girl writing about what she loves.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

